Key Stage 1 Teaching and the Curriculum – A summary for parents and carers.

Pupils in a community school like Broadway Infants must follow the National Curriculum 2013. The curriculum is organised on the basis of four key stages and at Broadway Infants Year 1 and Year 2 pupils study all of Key Stage 1. They may also touch on some relevant aspects from the Key Stage 2 curriculum, which becomes the main focus for study once they move on to their next school, if they are looking in-depth at a particular topic.

Teacher’s use a variety of approaches to engage and motivate children to learn. They always like to spark children’s curiosity through a wide range of practical, problems solving challenges. We teach reading primarily by using two main approaches:

  • Phonics using the ‘Letters and Sounds’ scheme
  • Guided reading using the book banded scheme Rigby Star

These main approaches are then supplemented by the plans teachers develop to support children who need to learn a wider range of strategies before they can successfully learn to read. Teacher in this situation draw on the following supplementary schemes: ‘Phonic’s Bug’, ‘Alphablocks’ and ‘Dandelion Phonics’.

In 2015 Ofsted commented about our phonics teaching:

The teaching of phonics (the sounds letters make) has steadily improved and more children do well in the national phonics check than is typical nationally.’


We value the support of parents and carers who help us enormously to develop their child’s reading skills by sharing a wide range of books at home. Each child can also choose a book banded book and a library book from our extensive range of books in school to take home in their book bag so children are never short of reading material. If you would like to know more about how we support parents and carers so they are confident when they read with their child, please look at the document ‘Reading Evening’, attached below which is an example of a PowerPoint presentation used with parent and carers to help them to develop reading at home.

If you need some new ideas about how you can support your child with reading take a look at this document ‘Reading ideas for parents’ that we hope will help.

The National Curriculum contains twelve subjects, classified in legal terms as ‘core’ and ‘other foundation’ subjects. For more information please refer to the full Primary National Curriculum document or the programs of study documents on our website.

The core subjects are:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science

 The Foundation Subjects are:

  • Art and Design
  • Citizenship
  • Computing
  • Design and technology
  • Languages
  • Geography
  • History
  • Music
  • Physical Education

In 2015 Ofsted commented about our curriculum:

‘The rich curriculum, built around pupils’ curiosity and interests, provides many memorable learning experiences. ‘

Teachers work hard to make learning relevant, interesting and fun! They use pupil’s interests and curiosity as a starting point for the lessons they plan. They challenge pupils to build on their prior knowledge. They also encourage families to become involved in the focus for the term.

   National Curriculum Parents Guide Year 1

  National Curriculum Parents Guide Year 2